Rest

In the beginning of Batman vs. Superman, Lois Lane is being held by a group of militants. When the base is attacked, a militant grabs her in a headlock and puts a gun to her head. It is at that moment that Superman appears.

She looks into his eyes and does something amazing. With a nod and a smile, she lets go of the militant. The militant who has a gun to her head. And who has a death grip on her. She lets go!

Why? Because Superman can’t take him out while she’s still attached to him. If she held on, she would have been dragged with him or otherwise hurt.
I’ve been wrestling myself lately. I’ve been wrestling with extreme emotions and suicidal thoughts. I’ve been crying constantly. I feel like I’m in a death grip myself with depression. And it wants to end this battle shortly.

I popped this movie in the other day and this scene grabbed me. It’s a departure from the classic damsel in distress narrative. Most of the time, the “damsel” is portrayed as a panicky waif. She is no more than set dressing to tell the hero’s story or to show his strength. In real life, these damsels actually hinder any efforts to save them through their panic.

Watching this scene, I was reminded of Jesus’ words, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28, 30) In the new DC cinematic universe, Lois Lane knows full well who Superman is and has a relationship with him. She trusts him. Lois Lane is no longer a panicky waif. It’s no longer “fight or flight”. She has a third option and that is rest. We tend to think of rest as a passive action. We see here that it is much the opposite. It is a conscious decision to let go in spite of the fear, in spite of the anger, anxiety, and depression that you feel.

It also means no longer identifying with those things. By letting go, she is saying that this battle is already over. She is saying that these things have no control over her.

Just as in real life, this doesn’t mean that trouble doesn’t exist or won’t find you. It just means you now have a third option for dealing with these things.

Leave a Reply

