Imagine Dragons – Radioactive

I’m waking up to ash and dust

I wipe my brow and I sweat my rust
I’m breathing in the chemicalsI’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

I raise my flags, don my clothes
It’s a revolution, I suppose
We’ll paint it red to fit right in
Whoa

I’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

All systems go, the sun hasn’t died
Deep in my bones, straight from inside

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

I love the song.  I love the video even more.

A villianous Lou Diamond Phillips is running a fight club for stuffed animals.  His stuffed animal beats everyone else’s every time.  He’s the champ and will always be the champ.  He’s gruff, he’s rude, and he’s mean.

Nobody can challenge him.  That is, until an unnamed girl walks in with a teddy bear.  This meek and mild teddy bear takes punch after kick after punch until finally he’s knocked out.  He’s dead.  LDP is about to call another victory when the teddy bear stands up and shoots lasers out of it paws.  The lasers wipe out the mean old stuffed monster and several of the onlookers who try to fight him themselves.  In the confusion, the girl takes the key from LDP and he is thrown in the pit with the other stuffed animals.

This reminds me of that old Carmen song where Jesus and Satan are boxing it out.  Jesus is KO’d but rises right before the countdown is finished and KO’s Satan.  It is just like Jesus to use a teenage girl and teddy bear to stop ultimate evil.  I love how, at the very end, the girl takes the key to the pit from LDP’s neck and sets free the prisoners.  Isaiah 61 prophecies this part of Jesus’ ministry, that he would free the prisoners and set the captives free.

Leave a Reply

