Wild Mass Guessing – Creation

I had a thought the other day inspired by John Crowder.  Now, I want to add a disclaimer here.  Wild Mass Guessing, as explained in this post, is just that.  It’s guessing.  It’s a thought that I have that I do NOT hold to as solid doctrine.  Second disclaimer: I do not know John Crowder.  He does not know me.  He doesn’t say anything like this in the video I linked to above.  I would be completely embarrassed if he ever read this.

So, anyways, I got to thinking about the Bible verses that state that Christ was slain before the foundation of the world.  This always bothered me.  Was Jesus somehow in Heaven getting the snot beat out of him before there was any sin to atone for?  Maybe it was figurative?  Maybe it just means that it was Christ’s plan before creation even began.  I have no solid ideas on what exactly this means.  I’ve posted some thoughts about it before.  Now, I’m going to take it a level further.

In the video linked to above, John Crowder describes God as taking up “all the space”.  Not just the space in the universe but heaven and hell as well.  EVERYTHING is inside of God.  As my mind is wont to do, I took this to its logical extreme.  Jesus was fully God so he must have had the entire created order within him on the cross.  But what if it was a little trickier than that?  What if the act of dying on the cross was the act of creation itself?!

Crucifixion Corpus Hypercubus

Time is nothing to God.  It would mean nothing to him to create the universe from inside the universe.  Think about it, six hours on the cross for each day of creation.  40 hours in the grave for the 4000 years or so of the Old Covenant.  Just like the seed dies to produce the tree.  So too, the Son of God dies to produce the entire created order.  Then, the created order produces the Son of God which creates the universe, etc…

In mathematics, we call it a recursion relation.  You may know it by the term “fractal”.  Simply, whatever comes out gets put right back in.  You have a function or machine and some initial condition/s or rather some raw materials.  You put the raw materials into the machine and get out a product.  You put that product right back into the machine to produce another product.  So on and so forth.

Actually, it makes me think of a Klein Bottle.

Klein Bottle

I don’t mean to say that the cycle produces infinitely many universes.  I like this image better.  It is self-contained.  It is actually better represented in four dimensions because, in 4D, it doesn’t intersect itself.  You may have heard of mobius strips.  This idea is similar.  The bottle has no discernible inside or outside.  If you follow the “outside” of the bottle and trace along back to the same spot, you will find yourself on the “inside” of the bottle.  Keep tracing for a second round, you’ll be back where you started.

Anyways, my idea means that the universe and God are non-orientable.  The universe is completely inside of God and God is completely inside the universe.  You start with God and trace along, you’ll find yourself in the cosmos.  Trace along the same line in the cosmos and you’ll find God.  “The Heavens declare the glory of God.” Psalm 19:1

What does that mean for sin?  It means it was never an obstacle!  Jesus not only came to create the universe but to recreate the universe.  Dying on the cross was his creative act.  His time in the grave is spent undoing what went wrong then he rises in a new creation.  He goes to Hell to release the prisoners.  But he also appears to Adam and Eve, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, Moses, David, the prophets, etc.  He shows them what is coming.  His spirit goes all over the place.  Then he comes back to his body on the third day and rises again.  This time he has reclaimed, redeemed, recreated the entire created order.  He rebooted the universe in a way.  Think of the Doctor at the end of season 5 of Doctor Who.  The universe is deteriorating around him but he sacrifices himself to reboot it.  While the universe is rebooting, he goes back through his timeline and appears to Amy and tells her how to bring him back.

I want to reiterate my disclaimer.  I have no scriptures to back this up.  I do NOT hold to this as solid doctrine.  I sometimes look at the Bible as a science fiction story and this is what happens.  I don’t need counseling or prayer.  My immortal soul is not in danger of exploding… or something…

 

Leave a Reply

